SDMX Users Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  


Author Topic: How to plot a SDMX dataset on a map?  (Read 20950 times)

Erik van Ingen - FAO

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • OpenSDMX
    • View Profile
    • OpenSDMX
How to plot a SDMX dataset on a map?
« on: December 19, 2011, 06:35:23 AM »

Has anyone tried to plot a SDMX dataset on a map? If yes, how did you spatially map the data?

We are thinking of adding a spatial annotation like "Well-known text" to codes in codelists which can be geo-referenced. Doing so, the SDMX dataset can be formally geo-referenced by the spatial system through the DSD. Any feedback on this approach is welcome.


  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: How to plot a SDMX dataset on a map?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2012, 03:16:18 PM »

This was done by one of the entrants to the "ABS Codeplay" competition run by the Australian Bureau of Statistics last year.
The entrant was able to dynamically put UIS SDMX information into a world map.

You can find some more information and the source code here:

Hope this helps.


  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: How to plot a SDMX dataset on a map?
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2014, 01:13:30 AM »

I have now got an example of plotting sdmx data on a map....
the demo is here;
  1. Choose ABS as SDMX service. (next)
  2. Choose any Census Cube (any labeled 'T' with a number or 'B' with a number) (next)
  3. Change the 'Region' or 'ASGS2011' dimension to 'Geospatial'
      Change TimeX to 'TimeDropDown'
      Change Observation from 'ContinuousY' to 'ContinuousColour' (next)
  4. Choose 'Map 1' as adapter(next)
  6. Change the 'State' field to a state, and the "Region Type' to something like 'Statistical Area Level 2'
      and change the measure to something you are interested in (this varies for each cube) (click query)
  5. Wait some time for the vectors to load, this can be up to 2 minutes! (30mb geojson file)
     On some browsers (chrome, latest firefox) subsequent queries hit the local cache rather than download again
     so it gets faster after the first load.
   6. Send me feedback! I am interested in what other people would find useful / difficult
     (yes.. i know the bindings screen is a nightmare to use... I will make it simpler)
    James Gardner